Kaiseki

One of Kyoto’s specialty is Kaiseki, a traditional multi-course meal, also known as the Japanese haute cuisine. The prices vary depending on where you dine.  Lunch is cheaper ranging around 4,000 to 10,000 yen, and dinner from 10,000 yen onward.  I had my first Kaiseki experience at a Ryokan (traditional Japanese inn) in Kobe. I was initially planning to have a Kaiseki meal in Kyoto, but since Kaiseki was part of the Ryokan package, I decided to just have it at the Ryokan.

The Ryokan I stayed at was the Negiya Ryofukuka at the famous hot spring town – Arima Onsen in Kobe.  The Kaiseki dinner was served in the room and 20161220_145935breakfast at the public dining hall. The Ryokan provided a set of yukata for me and my sister to wear during our stay. It was so comfortable and wearing the yukata while dining made the experience extra special. The staff who served us our dinner was really friendly and warm. She introduced every meal to us. The presentation of the food was simple yet enticing. The ingredients used were very fresh. Some dishes were an acquired taste for us and some were delish. My favorite were the tempura and matcha jelly with cream.  The shrimp tempura was scrumptious! the shrimp was cooked perfectly, the outer layer was crusty and crispy. The outer layer of the tempura was different from what I usually have. It was flaky and reminded me deep fried wontons. The baby eggplant was so cute!

The kaiseki dinner was truly an amazing culinary experience for both me and my sister.

This is the public dining area where we had our Japanese breakfast.

 

Leave a Reply

